Thursday, 5 February 2015

Bihar SSC - History Of Bihar

History of Bihar

A popular belief that Ashoka had killed his ninety-nine brothers and threw them in a well, where is that well?
Agamkuan, Patna

Who was the ruler of Magadh contemporary to Buddha?
Bimbisara of Haryanka dynasty.

Which ruler of Mauryan dynasty became Jain by faith?
Chandragupta Maurya became Jain by faith after renouncing the throne.  In the last years of his reign he took Jaineshwari Diksha from Shrutakevali Bhadrabahu to be a Muni. So he abdicated his throne and with the sangha he had gone to spend his last days at Shravanabelagola, a famous religious site in south India, where he fasted to death.

Who were sent from Pataliputra to establish Buddhism in Ceylon(Sri Lanka)?
Ashoka sent his son Mahendra and daughter Sanghamitra to establish Buddhism in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka).

Indian National Calendar is known as?
Saka Samvat(Saka era), started in 78 A.D. by Kushana ruler, Kanishka.
Month (Sanskrit)LengthStart date (Gregorian)Tropical zodiacTropical zodiac (Sanskrit)
1Chaitra30/31March 22/ March 21AriesMeṣa
2Vaishākha31April 21TaurusVṛṣabha
3Jyēshtha31May 22GeminiMithuna
4Āshādha31June 22CancerKarkata
5Shrāvana31July 23LeoSiṃha
6Bhaadra31August 23VirgoKanyā
7Āshwin30September 23LibraTulā
8Kārtika30October 23ScorpioVṛścik‌‌‌a
9Agrahayana30November 22SagitariusDhanur
10Pausha30December 22CapricornMakara
11Māgha30January 21AquariusKumbha
12Phalguna30February 20PiscesMīna
In leap years, Chaitra has 31 days and starts on March 21 instead. The months in the first half of the year all have 31 days, to take into account the slower movement of the sun across the ecliptic at this time.

Years are counted in the Saka Era, which starts its year 0 in the year 78 of the Common Era. To determine leap years, add 78 to the Saka year - if the result is a leap year in the Gregorian calendar(Western Calendar), then the Saka year is a leap year as well. Its structure is like the Persian calendar.

During Bimbisara era, the capital of Magadha was?
Rajagriha / Rajagir.

Pataliputra is located between the confluence of which rivers?
The Ganga and the Son river.

Chronological order of dynasty that had ruled Magadh?
Haryanka, Shisunga, Nanda, Maurya, Shunga and Kanva.

Which Buddhist scholar of Pataliputra was patron by Kanishka?
Ashvaghosa who has composed Buddhacharita.

Fa-hien has visited Nalanda University during the reign of?
Chandragupta Vikramaditya(Chandragupta II).

Maner is famous for?
Maner lies 24 km west of Patna the capital of Bihar.The town has tombs of Sufi saints Makhdoom Yahya Maneri and Makhdoom Shah Daulat, known as Bari Dargah (the great shrine) and Chhoti Dargah (the small shrine) respectively.

Maner is also famous for centre of Sufism.

Panini who is known for his Sanskrit grammar, particularly for his formulation of the 3,996 rules of Sanskrit morphology, syntax and semantics in the grammar known as Ashtadhyayi, was also lived in Maner.

Who has constructed Golghar?
Golghar is a granary built by Captain John Garstin, in 1786.

Who has established 'Pathar ki Masjid' in Patna?
The Pathar Ki Masjid stands on the bank of river Ganges near the Takht Shri Harmandir Saheb.Parvez Shah, son of Jahangir, established Pathar Ki Masjid in 1621.The structure is built of stone, and so it got its name as Pathar Ki Masjid.

Cremation spot(samadhi asthal) of Dr. Rajendra prasad?
Mahaprayan Ghat (Bans Ghat) in Patna.

Who was appointed subedar of Bihar by Jahangir in 1702?
Prince Ajim, grand-son of jahangir was appointed subedar of Bihar by Jahangir. He later converted the name of Patna to Ajimabad.

Where is the birth-place of Guru Gobind Singh Ji?
Patna is the birth-place of tenth Guru of Sikhs, Guru Gobind Singh.
The Gurdwara at Patna Sahib(Takht Sri Patna Sahib) was in remembrance of the birthplace of Guru Gobind Singh Ji, the tenth Guru of the Sikhs, who was born on 22 December 1666. He was son of ninth Guru of Sikhs, Guru Teg Bahadur. Like many historical Gurdwara's in India and Pakistan, this Gurdwara too, was built by Maharaja Ranjit Singh (1780-1839), the first Maharaja of the Sikh Empire, on the banks of the Ganges River, in Patna, Bihar.

Where is the tomb of Sher Shah Suri?
The tomb of Sher shah is in Sasaram, Rohtas.

 The tomb was built in memory of Emperor Sher Shah Suri, a Pathan from Bihar who defeated the Mughal Empire and founded the Suri Empire in northern India. He died in an accidental gunpowder explosion in the fort of Kalinjar on 13 May 1545 AD.

His tomb is an example of Indo-Islamic architecture. It was designed by the architect Aliwal Khan and built between 1540 and 1545, this red sandstone mausoleum (122 ft high), which stands in the middle of an artificial lake, which is nearly square, is known as the second Taj Mahal of India. The tomb stands at the centre of the lake on a square stone plinth with domed kiosks, chhatris at each of its corners.

The main tomb is built on octagonal plan.
The tomb was built during the reign of his son Islam Shah. An inscription dates its completion to August 16, 1545, three months after the death of Sher Shah.

Which Mughal ruler was coronated in Patna,Bihar?

Who was the editor and founder members of 'Bihar Times'?
Dr. Sachchidanand Sinha, Mahesh Narayan, Nandkishore Lal and Krishna Sahai have started editing 'Bihar Times' from patna in 1894. The editor of this newspaper was Mahesh Narayan. 'Bihar Times' has firstly raised the issue for separation of Bihar from Bengal. The demand for separation was put by Dr. Sachchidanand Sinha and Mahesh Narayan in 1906.

Who was the leader from Bihar in the revolt of 1857?
Babu Veer Kunwar Singh (1777–1858), one of the leaders of the Indian Rebellion of 1857 belonged to a royal Ujjaini house of Jagdispur, currently a part of Bhojpur district, Bihar state, India. At the age of 80 years, during India’s First War of Independence (1857), he actively led a select band of armed soldiers against the troops under the command of the British East India Company. After the death of Kunwar Singh, Amar Singh has continued revolt against Britishers in Bihar.

Who has formed the Bihar Provincial Kisan Sabha?
Swami Sahajanand Saraswati in 1929.
The Kisan Sabha movement started in Bihar under the leadership of Swami Sahajanand Saraswati who had formed in 1929 the Bihar Provincial Kisan Sabha (BPKS) in order to mobilise peasant grievances against the zamindari attacks on their occupancy rights, and thus sparking the Farmers' movement in India.

In the 1930s the Bihar Provincial Kisan Sabha launched a number of movements. The main theme of Bihar Kisan Sabha was abolition of zamindari.

All India Kisan Sabha was the name of the peasants front of the undivided Communist Party of India (CPI), an important peasant movement formed by Swami Sahajanand Saraswati in 1936.

Who organised Home Rule Movement in Bihar?
Mazharul Haque organised the Home Rule Movement in Bihar and was its President in 1916. Home Rule Movement was organised in every districts of Bihar except Champaran. He actively participated in the Champaran Satyagraha along with fellow eminent nationalists Rajendra Prasad,Anugrah Narayan Sinha and Brajkishore Prasad for which he was sentenced to 3 months imprisonment.

When was Patna Secretariat firing incident took place?
On 11 August, 1942,during Quit India Movement,1942.
On 9 August 1942, Congress leaders were arrested all across the country during Quit India  Movement and put all great leaders of Bihar in jail. On 11 August 1942, mobs of students have tried to furl the national in Patna Secretariat. The District Magistrate of Patna, W.G. Archer has ordered firing on the students. Seven of the students have been killed in the firing. They were Umakant Prasad, Ramanand Singh, Satish Prasad Jha, Jagpati Kumar, Devi prasad Chaudhari, Rajendra Singh and Ramgovind Singh. There is also Martyr's memorial in front of Patna Secretariat to commemorate the sacrifice of seven students.

No comments:

Post a Comment